Leather from the roof of the world


The YAK (Poephagus grunniensis) is an Asian high mountain cattle from the family of the Bovidae. They live in Tibet 13123, 36 ft. above the sea level. The YAK was first domesticated in Tibet over 7000 years ago. They produce milk, yak wool and leather. The diet of the central Asian mountain nomads consists of yak meat, milk and dairy products of the yak (more than 90 %). As riding animals and beasts of burden they help in the transport and to till the fields. Yak wool serves for the production of cloths, blankets, ropes, felt-boots and tents. The dry faecal finds use as a traditional fuel.

The skin of the YAK is much thicker as we know from our cattle and is used by the nomads for the manufacturing of shoes, belts, leather ropes, transport containers, boats and saddles.
Yak`s leather shows an especially grain. It feels velvety soft and is still extremely robust.

YAK

These two characteristics, litheness and durability, make yak`s leather an exclusive pre product which fits very well to the high-class understanding of the company KLAUS UEBERHOLZ.

Klaus Ueberholz processes yak leather of the Lhasa Leather Factory in Tibet exclusively. The company combines high quality standards with modern environment protection and social responsibility. It was founded in 1959 and modernised as a part of a German development aid project for the purposes of ecological a social sustainability.

Lhasa Leather Factory employs approx. 350 Employees. 90 % of them are Tibetans, the remaining are Han-Chinese. 40 % of the workforce are female, the other 60 % are male.

The factory disposes work flats, a kindergarten, a bathhouse, a school, a hospital ward, and a meeting hall. The plant has an own drinking water supply. Payment consists of a base salary and premiums. Employees of the tannery, which is closed from mid. November to the end of February, because of the weather conditions, receive their base salary for this period. The plant supplies approx. 230 pensioners.



txt

Cases of finest leather

Klaus Ueberholz designs and produces exclusive manicure-cases of finest leather for the industry of steel.

MORE
txt

Smoker's accessories

Cigar cases, pipe bags and other smoker`s accessories made of high class leather or unique YAK leather inspire the sophisticated smoker.

MORE
txt

Yak : Leather from the roof of the world

The YAK (Poephagus grunniensis) is an Asian high mountain cattle from the family of the Bovidae, which lives in Tibet, 13123, 36 ft. above the sea level.

MORE

Leder vom Dach der Welt


Der Yak (Poephagus grunniensis) ist ein asiatisches Hochgebirgsrind, das im 4000 Meter hoch gelegenen Tibet heimisch ist. Yaks werden seit der Jungsteinzeit (ca. 7000 v. Chr.) als Haustiere gehalten. Sie liefern Milch, Fleisch, Wolle und Leder. Die Ernährung der Bergnomaden Zentralasiens besteht zu über 90 Prozent aus Yakfleisch sowie aus der Milch und den Milchprodukten des Yaks. Als Reit- und Lasttiere helfen sie beim Transport und Bestellen der Äcker. Yakwolle dient zur Herstellung von Kleidung, Decken, Seilen, Filzstiefeln und Zelten. Und ihr getrockneter Kot findet Verwendung als traditionelles Brennmaterial.

Die Haut des Yaks ist wesentlich dicker als beim Rind ausgebildet und wird von den Nomaden zur Anfertigung von Schuhen, Gürteln, Lederseilen, Transportbehältern, Booten und Reitsätteln verwendet. Yak-Leder weist eine besonders feine Narbung auf. Es fühlt sich samtig weich an und ist dennoch äußerst robust.

YAK

Diese beiden Eigenschaften, Geschmeidigkeit und Strapazierfähigkeit, machen YAK-Leder zu einem exklusiven Vorprodukt, das bestens zum Qualitätsverständnis der Firma Ueberholz passt.

Klaus Ueberholz verarbeitet ausschließlich Yak-Leder der Lhasa Leather Factory in Tibet. Das Unternehmen verbindet hohe Qualitätsstandards mit modernem Umweltschutz und sozialer Verantwortung. Es wurde bereits 1959 gegründet und im Rahmen eines deutschen Entwicklungshilfeprojekts im Sinne ökologischer und sozialer Nachhaltigkeit modernisiert.

Die Lhasa Lederfabrik beschäftigt ca. 350 Arbeitnehmer. Neunzig Prozent von ihnen sind Tibeter, die übrigen Han-Chinesen. Vierzig Prozent der Belegschaft sind Frauen, sechzig Prozent Männer.

Die Fabrik verfügt über Werkswohnungen, einen Kindergarten, ein Badehaus, eine Schule, eine Krankenstation und eine Versammlungshalle. Das Werk hat eine eigene Trinkwasserversorgung. Die Entlohnung besteht aus einem Grundlohn und Prämien. Die Beschäftigten der Gerberei, in der wegen der Witterungsverhältnisse von Mitte November bis Ende Februar nicht gearbeitet werden kann, erhalten für diese Zeit ihren Grundlohn weiter ausgezahlt. Die Fabrik versorgt ca. 230 Rentner.



txt

Manikür-Etuis aus feinstem Leder

Klaus Ueberholz entwirft und fertigt exklusive Manikür-Etuis aus feinstem Leder für die Stahlwarenindustrie.

MEHR
txt

Raucherzubehör

Zigarren-Etuis, Pfeifentaschen und andere Raucheraccessoires aus hochwertigen Rindsledern oder dem einzigartigen YAK-Leder begeistern den anspruchsvollen Raucher.

MEHR
txt

NeXaver

Aus Liebe zum Pferd – das genickschonende Halfter.

 SHOP